Main Dishes

Green Onion Meatballs: The Last Supper

Yes, I will soon die. This was my last supper.

Just joking, it was my last dinner in the L.I.G.H.T. House. I like a little excitement, okay? The L.I.G.H.T. House (stands for Living Intentionally Growing Healthy Together) was my home for the last four months. I will miss its delightful inhabitants, the giant should-be-a-cheese-workshop attic, and perhaps most poignantly, its tiny kitchen. This was my first semester off the meal plan, which came with the responsibility of cooking all of my meals, every single day. My fear of raw meat? Quickly banished.

The itty-bitty galley kitchen (named for its resemblance to the box-sized kitchens found in ships) has been witness to some truly transcendent food as well as more than its fair share of kitchen disasters (such as the great beef bone burning of 2013). But it has served me well.

IMG_0804

However, as of tonight, I am officially moved-out, and since I’m taking up residence in the Sustainability House this fall, last night’s meatballs were the final supper to be savored at 17 College Street. Rather fitting, since meatballs were the first dish I learned to cook when I started eating clean, and remain a dish I find infinitely homey and comforting. When in doubt, when confused, when plain tired, I make meatballs.

Green Onion Beef Meatballs

IMG_0808

1 lb ground beef

1/2 medium onion, minced

10 small green onion stalks, finely chopped (normally I use 2 garlic cloves here, but I had fresh on hand!)

1 egg

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground cumin

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Combine all the ingredients in a bowl and mix with your hands until just incorporated – you don’t want to over-mix! Shape into golf ball sized balls and bake for 20 minutes. These taste best if they’re still a little pink when you take them out, so be careful not to leave them in too long. Enjoy!

IMG_0810 IMG_0811 IMG_0813 IMG_0814 IMG_0817

 

 

Leave a Reply

