Main Dishes / Tutorials

Pesto Scrambled Eggs

IMG_0780

School officially ended last Friday, and most of my friends were back home by Saturday morning, relaxing and catching up with their families. Where was I? Still at school, since I stuck around to help my painting professor clean out the studio space. After tomorrow (my last day) I have to vacate the premises of the theme house I inhabit. Do I have a ticket back to Texas? No. Do I have any firm plans other than my internship in August? Er, no.

So it’s adventure time! Determined to experience a New England summer, I’ve sort of intentionally created a rather interesting situation. One where I have no home, I guess? It’s all going to work out though. No worries (I say shrilly as I chuckle nervously and eye my desk calender). The owners of the farm I volunteer at during the school year have been kind enough to let me crash at their place until Monday, and since I love Little Grasse (the farm) and I love spending time there, kicking off the summer transplanting seedlings sounds perfect!

Okay, back to the working thing. The last three days have been chock-full of vacuuming, reorganizing, and storing giant canvases.  They have also covered me in a fine layer of dust every day, which in turn makes me feel sort of grimy, which I suspect explains my obsession with crisp salads and green things and light egg dishes for the last week…although now I ponder it, I always seem to like those things. I’m just trying to find a reason for this next recipe, but guess what? The reason is it’s delicious. I ate my pesto scrambled eggs with boiled potatoes slathered in butter and herbs and some roasted asparagus. It made me feel all fresh and clean and springy, which I needed after spending an hour inhaling sawdust this morning.

This is another simple, easy dish, but it packs a real punch. Scrambled eggs are pretty great on their own, but when lightly cooked with pesto and scrambled to airy and pillowy perfection, they’re hard to stop inhaling. I’ve been posting a lot of pesto recipes, but that’s because I made a giant jar, and I’m all about cooking with what you have on hand. I’m also operating on an ulterior motive to generate as many pesto-fanatics as possible.

Pesto Scrambled Eggs

(for one, but extremely easy to adapt. For goodness sake, there are only two ingredients)

IMG_0767

2 tsp butter

3 Eggs

1 tbsp Pesto

Salt & Pepper to taste

Crack your eggs and whisk in a bowl. Turn your stove top on to moderate heat and let your pan (cast-iron!!! if you don’t have one hit up garage sales and flea markets until you find one!!!) warm up. Melt the butter in the pan, making sure to coat the entire pan with it (we don’t want our eggs to stick!). Pour in the eggs, throw in a dash of salt and pepper, and immediately drizzle the pesto on top of them. Then tip the pan so the eggs covers the entire bottom surface. Wait until barely set, then scrape at the edges and let the still runny egg fill in the opened up spaces. Continue until there’s no runny egg left, then flip the entire pancake-like thing over so it can cook on the other side. During this process the eggs will inevitably began to scramble. If you like your eggs all together don’t mess with it, but if you like them broken up just move the eggs with your spatula a tad more.

IMG_0771 IMG_0773 IMG_0774 IMG_0775 IMG_0776 IMG_0777

You want your eggs JUST cooked when you scoop them out of the pan, still looking a little wet. They will continue cooking on the plate, so if they look done on the stove, they’re already overcooked. Turn out onto a plate and top with a little more pesto if it catches your fancy. Enjoy!

IMG_0778 IMG_0783

2 thoughts on “Pesto Scrambled Eggs

  1. Amy you are amazing!!!! I cannot wait to make your meals for my 17 month old son. I think he will love it all. Thank you for sharing. Also, I would love to see more of your paintings. I love the pigs. Are you willing to sell any of your paintings?

    • Thanks Karen! I can send you some pictures of my other work if you’d like. I would be MORE than willing to sell my paintings, though the pigs have already found a home along with the other farm-inspired ones. I’m also on a mission to learn to watercolor this summer, so maybe you’d like a couple of those.

Leave a Reply

