Salads / Side Dishes

Grapefruit and Pea Shoot Salad

Earlier this week I got a small bag of pea shoots from the Farmer’s Market from Bittersweet Farms. I was advised to give them a quick sautee in olive oil and garlic on the stove top, until just wilted. I gave it a whirl, and it was delicious, but after trying it in salads, I think I am firmly in the eat-raw-in-crisp-salads camp.

I also received a package from the home-state including one extremely valuable Texas Ruby Red Grapefruit. In case you’re unaware, Texas grapefruit is a VERY BIG DEAL. As in it’s sweet and juicy and just tart enough to make your tongue tingle. I ate the citrus-y revelation alongside leftover meatballs and roasted beets and sweet potatoes as my last lunch before moving out. It was a very sweet send-off.

IMG_0819

Grapefruit and Pea Shoot Salad

Note: I am aware that my measurements for salads are pretty gosh darn awful. But I firmly believe you can’t really mess up a salad.  Also that too much salad dressing is a gift, not a nuisance.

Salad:

A handful of spinach

A smaller handful of pea shoots

1/2 cucumber, cut in fourths and sliced thinly

1/2 grapefruit, sectioned and cut into smaller pieces

Dressing:

1 tbsp grapefruit juice (I squeeze it from the leftover peels)

1 tbsp olive oil

2 tsp pesto of any kind

Combine salad ingredients. Mix dressing together and pour over salad. Eat and savor the citrus sweetness against the clean taste of the pea shoots mixed with the bite of garlick-y and nutty nirvana.

 

One thought on “Grapefruit and Pea Shoot Salad

Leave a Reply

