Sweets & Treats

A Tall Glass of Maple-Lemon Summer

IMG_0890

Personally, sugar can make me a little crazy. When I get sugar into my system, I suddenly want to eat everything in sight, whether I’m hungry or not. I demolish whole bags of pistachios and can’t quite seem to feel full, even if my tummy has food-baby twins. Accordingly, I limit my fruit consumption and rarely have natural sweeteners (like maple syrup and honey). However sometimes there is just cause to deviate from the plan, and this summery beverage is one of them!

It’s only three ingredients, and it’s more flavored water than full-on juice, so I’d say its a good exception to the rule. It’s cool and tangy and refreshing, and the amount of maple syrup is still pretty low. It makes a great substitute for lemonade, so mix it up on a hot day and drink it outside. I think it would be gorgeous with thinly cut lemon slices floating in the pitcher, so make it for company and you can all get sugar-crazy together!

IMG_0885

Maple-Lemon Summer Drink

1/2 gallon (or two quarts) of water

1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice

2 tbsp maple syrup

Mix in a large pitcher or jar, add ice cubes and a few lemon slices, and serve.

IMG_0887

Leave a Reply

