Snapshots

Snapshots of a Lazy Sunday

IMG_1234

Sunday being the official day of rest, I was off the hook at the farm (except for a little tree-watering). However, I was on for a few games of Scrabble, learning to play Cribbage, and two incredible meals. For lunch I went over to my friend Lew’s, whom I have a standing Sunday date with, and we whipped up some burgers. For dinner – OH, FOR DINNER. My excellent friend Nicole just got back from a whirlwind adventure in England, so we met up to talk British and eat way too much at once.

We’re talking venison patties, cold asian-inspired asparagus, and a tomato and basil salad to make you weep. We cooked it all up in her adorable kitchen:

IMG_1218 IMG_1223

Yes, that is indeed Fiestaware you see. And bright pink cabinets. How could you not be happy around easter cabinetry and plates on a mission to party? Lucky, lucky me, Nicole had ground venison, and after mixed with onion, garlic, and a couple seasonings, they made the most delicious little sausage patties. I ate far too many of them.

IMG_1226 IMG_1231

A couple of tomatoes got married to a glug of olive oil, some basil, minced onion, and salt and pepper. But the star, by far, was the cold asparagus dish Nicole concocted before I even set foot in the kitchen. I love asparagus, if you hadn’t noticed. Perhaps the three asparagus recipes already posted tipped you off. But I’ve never eaten asparagus like THIS, and I promise, it’s something you should try. Especially when it’s summer. The spears are quickly blanched, plunged into an ice bath, and then marinated for hours in sesame seed oil, agave nectar, rice wine vinegar, and a smidgen of soy sauce. The result is tender but crisp, and tastes like an oasis in the middle of a scorching desert.

IMG_1236 IMG_1241

You see the food on the plate? Triple that and add a gigantic grapefruit. That’s what I actually ate. I don’t regret a single bite. The asparagus recipe will be coming along shortly, until then, enjoy the beginning of your week!

Leave a Reply

