Side Dishes

Roasted Baby Bok Choy

IMG_1369 IMG_1339

Standing in the garden at the end of a long but satisfying day, I asked Flip what I could harvest from the garden for dinner.  After a moment of contemplation, she pointed me towards the Baby Bok Choy. I happily skipped over with a basket and a pair of scissors, only to be met with a bit of a conundrum. Due to my prior experience cutting kale and chard, I assumed I would lop off the largest leaves and allow new ones to sprout up in their place. Not so.

“Just cut it at the bottom and take the whole head!” Flip tells me.

I crouch in the soil, flabbergasted. This is it? One harvest and it’s all gone?

“Yup. We’ll replant it next week.”

But-but-but! That’s a lot of work for ONE harvest, I cry. Flip assures me this is how Baby Bok Choy works, so I reverently bend over the plant and carefully cut the ENTIRE head away from the root. Repeat six times for all the largest bundles, and I’ve got a full basket and a heavy conscience.

Don’t worry. The conscience was cleared when I got a taste of this wondrous stuff. Typically I braise Bok Choy. Hot pan, oil, garlic, add water, steam. But knowing exactly how steep the price was for this particular Bok Choy, I felt the need to honor it and try a new recipe. I’m glad I did, because oven-roasted Bok Choy is tender and sweet without being soggy, the stalks meltingly soft while the leaves crisp up on the outer edges. A splash of lemon juice, minced garlic and ginger…veggie wonder. VEGGIE WONDER.

This recipe was loosely adapted from this post. I swapped the oil and added some of my favorite Asian aromatics for a home-y (or at least what I consider home-y) vegetable experience.

Roasted Baby Bok Choy

Several heads of Baby Bok Choy

1 tbsp cocnut oil

2 tsp minced garlic

1 tsp minced ginger

salt & pepper to taste

Lemon wedges

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and line a large baking sheet with aluminum foil. Separate the baby bok choy into individual leaves and mince your garlic and ginger. Toss the leaves with the melted coconut oil, salt and pepper, and minced aromatics on the baking sheet and slide into the HOT oven for 6-8 minutes, until the stalks are tender and the leaves lightly crisped. Remove from the oven and squeeze fresh lemon juice on top just before serving. Enjoy!

IMG_1400 IMG_1403

IMG_1406

2 thoughts on “Roasted Baby Bok Choy

  1. Oooooooo! That sounds good. Do I need to go to the farmer’s market to get Baby Bok Choy? There is a wonderful Farmer’s Market here in Cedar Park.
    Joan

Leave a Reply

