Side Dishes

Buttery Sauteed Turnips & City Wandering

I had Saturday all to myself, and it was absolutely lovely. I released my mind from internship responsibilities and grocery store shifts and just enjoyed New York. The day was warm but breezy, and perfect walking weather. So I walked and wandered.

I went to the Farmer’s Market in the morning (more on that later!) and deliriously¬† meandered through vegetables and Amish butter and cartons of strawberries. Later I met up with my new friend Lola to check out the very famous Brooklyn Flea in Clinton Hill. I couldn’t exactly afford anything (Flea Markets attended solely by hipsters are NEVER cheap), but it was a real treat to just window-shop and look at the plethora of handmade, vintage, and artisan products. Pickles were tasted, jewelry was tried, and pulled pork aromas inhaled.

IMG_1756

The real deals were to be found elsewhere, at the New York equivalent of a Texan Garage Sale: The Stoop Sale! Lampposts and streetlights hosted colorful and enticing (New Yorkers sure can market themselves…and their stuff!) posters that promised to fulfill my thrifting fantasies. I managed to exercise some restraint, however, and ended up with a few skeins of really beautiful yarn and a crochet hook. Come winter and Knitting Club, I’ll be glad of them.

IMG_1754

After a long day of traipsing about, the night was cool and my tummy was growling. I had some leftover turnips from last week’s veggie haul, so they got a simple yet never-fail treatment and were gobbled up alongside some oven-roasted fish and a fresh salad. A perfect end to a perfect Saturday. Now, back to the grindstone!

Buttery Sauteed Turnips

  • 1 bunch turnips (I used soft, white, Japanese turnips, but all will do)
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • salt & pepper to taste

Slice your turnips into thin coins. Heat a skillet (cast-iron is best, as per usual), and melt 1 tbsp of butter in it. Once bubbling and browning, add your turnip coins and spread out in the pan, creating as thin a layer as you can. Sprinkle in salt and pepper. Allow to cook and brown for 1-2 minutes, then stir and spread out again. Continue doing this (and adding butter when the pan seems dry, the turnips soak up a lot of oil) until the coins are golden, toasty, and smell like heaven. Serve with fish or chicken and a large side salad. Or just eat them plain (a favorite breakfast of mine). Once cooked, the bitterness is all gone and the turnips actually taste a bit like potatoes.

IMG_1771

Mmmmm, turnips. Never thought I’d say that!

IMG_1774

IMG_1782

One thought on “Buttery Sauteed Turnips & City Wandering

  1. I prepared Buttery Sauteed Turnips tonight and enjoyed them.
    This was a new experience for me since I never had them before.
    Thank you for the recipe and encouragement to cook them.
    Joan

Leave a Reply

