Salads / Side Dishes

Salt & Vinegar Potato Salad

IMG_1894

This salad. These potatoes. I will be eating this all summer long. Me and potato salad? We’re best friends now. We used to be distant, not-even-really acquaintances, but I will boldly declare our affection now that we’ve found each other.

My past with potato salad was limited and sort of depressing. Since my mother was the primary (let’s be honest, ONLY) cook in my adolescent household, fried rice was more likely than potato salad. And while I will proudly defend Central Texas barbeque until my untimely death, I will not defend the goopy, always bright yellow potato salad served up alongside said glorious meat. It was clumpy. And pungent. You know what, let’s just leave it in the past.

I was inspired to consider the potato salad by two catalysts:

1. The Heat. It is so hot here. My apartment doesn’t have air conditioning. Irony of ironies, I’m living my Northern summer, and I would probably be cooler in Texas.

2. Sunday Potluck Picnic. I was invited to (and very much enjoyed) a supper in the park this past Sunday, at which a simple, refreshing, and sharp potato salad made an appearance. After consuming the majority of the tupperware container (I held on to that thing like hoarder), I eagerly demanded the recipe and got to work.

IMG_1871

This potato salad is good warm or cold, and will go with just about anything. I had some for dinner, I had some for breakfast. Basically, I consumed far too many potatoes to be reasonable. But the sharpness of the vinegar against the mild olive oil and fresh herbs is an experience we should all be lucky enough to have. So buy some potatoes. Make potato salad.

Salt & Vinegar Potato Salad

  • 1 lb potatoes (the smaller, the better. Red potatoes or small yellow ones will shine)
  • 1/4 cup roughly chopped herbs (like parsley and basil)
  • 1/4 cup chopped green onion or scallions
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 2 tbsp Vinegar (I used Red Wine, but White Wine or Cider would be just as good)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dijon mustard
  • salt and pepper to taste

1. Cover your potatoes by several inches of cold water in a pot, and bring to a rollicking simmer. Allow to cook for anywhere from twenty to thirty-five minutes, uncovered, until a knife easily slips into a potato.

2. Remove potatoes to a bowl of ice cold water and allow to cool down, until still warm, but not hot enough to burn the nerves of your fingertips (I was not so wise).

IMG_1887

Cut into 1/2 inch to 1 inch chunks. Whisk all other ingredients together in a small bowl, and pour over the potatoes. Mix until the potatoes are smothered in the dressing, and serve either slightly warm, at room temperature, or cold. You know what? Just eat it.

IMG_1890

5 thoughts on “Salt & Vinegar Potato Salad

  1. Hi, Amy. Great job writing, and I hope you’re enjoying all the lessons of cooking. Please keep blogging, preferably anything that involves potatoes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

