Europe / Quebec City / Snapshots

Quintessentially Quebec

IMG_4969

My last few days in Quebec City have been chock full of quintessentially Quebecois activities, and were a perfect way to end the ideal first leg of my European Voyage (yes, I realize the first two weeks were still in North America, but trust me, Quebec counts as a European city, I promise).

I had a free day on Wednesday, and I decided to take an afternoon for myself. As much as I love company (and I really do love everyone on my program), I’m one of those people that recharges by spending time with myself, not by being around other people. I wish I could alight into a crowded party room and get pumped full of energy, but it doesn’t work that way for me.

So I had the loveliest lunch, sans company, at a small Afghan restaurant near my homestay. I had a velvety eggplant dish called Badenjan and a lamb and spinach stew called Qorma Sabzi over rice, with a fresh little carrot and apple salad. It was fantastic; the spices were warm and slightly hot, the eggplant silky, the lamb tender. I took a nice, long, two hour lunch, and then I set off for the Quebec Museum of Beaux-Arts, conveniently located just down the road.

I was pleasantly surprised to find several Impression and Post-Impression exhibits (some of my favorite movements); one was on loan from MOMA, and I got to wile away a few hours dreamily staring at Picasso, Manet, and Matisse. I love being in museums alone, especially during off hours. You can just wander, and stare, and wonder if you’ll ever produce something quite as beautiful.

IMG_3206

Then yesterday, as our afternoon activity, one of our Quebec guides took us ice skating at the Place de’Youville. It was bitterly cold, and I looked like a chilly Eskimo (giant coat, two scarves, hat, and two pairs of glove, thank you very much), but it was actually really fun – numbing, but fun. I was a devoted roller-blader as a child, so ice skating wasn’t too far of a stretch.

But now for the main event; our goodbye dinner. Our last night in Quebec, the program took us out for a truly fantastic dinner. There were four courses, and dessert, and Coffee or Tea. I had the Salmon Tartare (my first time – I LOVED it!), a lightly dressed beet salad, the Filet Mignon with roasted vegetables, and a nice cup of green tea. We arrived at 6:30 and didn’t leave until after 10:00. It was long, and full of laughter, and I spoke in French AT LEAST half the time. It was the perfect send off.

But now, for France.

One thought on “Quintessentially Quebec

Leave a Reply

