Europe / Snapshots / Uncategorized

I’m here, and I’m a fish, and I am happy.

IMG_5030

It’s like living in a postcard.

I don’t even care that that is about as cliched as it gets, and I’m an English Major (we hate cliches). Because it’s true. Rouen is pretty as a picture, with over one hundred eglises (or churches), cobble stoned streets (I’m not even being cute, there really are), and a small boutique selling absolutely mouthwatering clothes around every corner.

Even the rain is charming. And I hate rain.

IMG_5014

We arrived Saturday morning, jet-lagged and tired and half-asleep. Of course, we were immediately whisked off to Rouen for a walking tour (I resembled a zombie), followed by a long, sit down lunch. I had a perfectly pan-fried piece of white fish over a bed of lentils with prosciutto. Pretty fantastic introduction to France, oui? The rest of the day involved a lot of sleep, more walking, and another lovely dinner, salmon with grilled eggplant and zucchini. It would seem in France, the fish dish is the one sans gluten. Fortunately, I LOVE SEAFOOD, so this isn’t so much an inconvenience as it is a blessed gift from the Food Gods.

IMG_5019

But on Sunday, we met our host families (after more delicious food, of course). I’m not going to lie, I was a bit of a mess. For the hour beforehand, my stomach was all the sudden in knots, and I had a hard time finishing lunch, which is always an alarming symptom. We returned to the hotel to meet our host families, and….everything was perfect.

My family is lovely, my home is lovely, my room is lovelier than anything I’ve ever lived in, and we had salmon for dinner.

Between the water and the seafood, I’m obviously turning into a poisson. And rightly so.

One thought on “I’m here, and I’m a fish, and I am happy.

Leave a Reply

